GUEST BLOGGER: WENDY LAHARNAR

Wendy Laharnar

The YA/Adult novel, The Unhewn Stone, deals with one of my favourite historic heroes, William Tell and today its author, Wendy Laharnar, stops by to answer some questions about her writing process for this, and other works.
1. Writing is a solitary pursuit. Why do you spend so much time writing when you could be pursuing group activities and mixing with people?
Well, I don’t spend enough time writing, really. For me there is nothing better than to spend a day with a group of writers, so I tend to gravitate towards people who like to write and talk about writing, even if I have to travel to find them. Recently, my husband and I drove 900 kms for me to present a workshop on Researching and Writing Historical Fiction. The interaction at my workshop, and in the others I attended, was wonderful. The results of the writing exercises blew me away. There were so many fabulous writers and several came away with new story ideas already well developed.
Talking face to face, or on the phone, or in emails usually concerns writing – mine and theirs. I love to share ideas and discover new techniques, that is, new to me. Most of all, I love brainstorming scenarios or character traits; that’s when the magic happens.
2. What promises do you make to your readers?
Good stories immediately set goals and raise questions which, in themselves, promise a thoroughly enjoyable read. As the author, I endeavour to leave no loose ends and bring my stories to a satisfying and unexpected conclusion. In the process my aim is to provide my readers with ‘a bumpy ride’ which will entertain, enlighten and create food for thought.
3. What makes The Unhewn Stone different from other YA Historical novels?
The Unhewn Stone is multi layered. A modern teenager’s search for identity takes him back to the time of his ancestors in 1307 AD. The adventure challenges his (and my) concept of friendship, mercy, honour, faith, courage, pride and humility. This is underpinned by a deeper philosophy: is there really any difference between alchemy, religion, science, myth and magic? The more Stefan discovered about himself and his identity, the more I leant about me and I came to the conclusion that Stefan and I now think very much alike.
Also, as well as giving senior students the opportunity to experience life in the Middle Ages from the perspective of a modern tourist, the story explores the idea that there is a thin line between the freedom fighter of old and the terrorist of today. So, I’ve taken liberties with Friedrich Schiller’s Wilhelm Tell by approaching the legend from the opposite side. Tell is not the hero in The Unhewn Stone. Stefan Gessler the conjuror, my modern time traveller, is.
Stefan wants to stop the legend before it happens because Wilhelm Tell killed his ancestor, the tyrant governor who made Tell shoot the apple off his son’s head, and Stefan’s family bears the stigma of the tyrant’s name.
My research of the medieval era and the alchemy aspects for the story took many years and I stayed at the Swiss locations, twice, in summer and winter, to research the setting. Since I have reinvented this legend, I hope the lovely Swiss friends I made while in Bürglen, central Switzerland, won’t be disappointed with it. I don’t think they will be. But…Stefan is an unhewn stone; this is his story.
4. Do you have a favourite writing tip for other authors?
Oh yeah! Two particular tips I’ve picked up help me to focus:
I try to grab readers right from the start, allowing them into the Now of the story to participate in the experience. If I let the readers slip to the sidelines and expect them to listen they could disengage from the story and skim, or worse, fall asleep and drop my book. It’s better to Show rather than Tell.
In my writers’ group, I like to have the members bombard me with questions about the main character’s actions and motives – protagonist or antagonist. They put me on the spot and I have to come up with believable answers, quickly. I find myself defending the character, or exaggerating, or even making up lies to make him more interesting. My answers lead to more tricky questions. It is amazing how much I learn about the character and how this often moves the story forward in a more exciting and tantalizing direction.

Wendy Laharnar lives by the sea on the east coast of Australia with her husband and mini schnauzer. She is a published author with MuseItUp Publishing and writes historical fiction, sci-fi, and fantasy, for all age groups. Although, being a kid at heart, her work tends towards young adults. She is happiest when the writing flows quickly but also finds pleasure in reading, travel and handcraft.

Website: http://wendylaharnar.weebly.com/
MuseItUp author page: http://tinyurl.com/3vqoxl4
Amazon Kindle: http://tinyurl.com/77csqwh
Barnes & Noble: http://tinyurl.com/oxrv6lt

3 comments

  1. LJ Roberts · · Reply

    Wonderful interview, Wendy, and lovely photo.

  2. Thank you for having me on your lovely blog today, Renee. I love your hat on the cat. I think this might be the one I should make to wear at my medieval Book Launch on 15th August – just days away. So scary, so little time and so much left to do.

  3. Thank you for coming. The hats are, of course, photo-shopped, because attempts to get photos of our cats in hats results in pictures of hats lying on the floor and a blur of fur fleeing the photo area.

Leave a Reply

The Picture Book Review

Picture book reviews, reviews of books with pictures, and pictures of books!

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Rearview Mirror

Music, Film, Art, History and more....

Raw Streets

by MaxGor

Magna Bloga- A History Blog

Sharing my passion for history

Your Well Wisher Program

Attempt to solve commonly known problems…

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

O' Canada

Reflections on Canadian Culture From Below the Border

Juju Films

Cutting edge Multimedia Programming

BOOK SHELF

"Tell me and I forget-Show me and I remember-Involve me and I learn"

euzicasa

Share something you learned everyday!

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Travel

The greatest blog in all the land! find the best articles about: Adventure Travel, Airline Travel, Budget Travel, Hotels and Lodging, Timeshare,

web blog

you can find in this blog articles about : Web Hosting SEO Affiliate Programs Online Business PPC Advertising

Jumbled Writer – Charlie Dims

Putting kids and history together

TheCoevas official blog

Putting kids and history together

Eric Price

Fantasy, Science Fiction, and Whatever Else Comes to Mind.

John B. Rosenman, SF/F/Horror Writer

Putting kids and history together

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

THE LOS PERSPECTIVE

The Journey and Adventures of a Hindu Pagan

wordpress/

Just another WordPress.com site

Andrew Hines

be inspired

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

Longevity Letter

Aging can be hacked

Rennert New York TESOL Center | TESOL/TESL/TEFL Certification

Teach English as a Second Language | Tips and Ideas

Montessori and the World

An Adventure into Montessori Studies in Italy

The Normanators

Domestic Goddess. New Blogger. Homeschooling Mama.

Another Hatchett Job....

Homeschooling, Sewing, and Quilting at the Cabin

Bucca Books

Reading and Experiencing Children's Literature

Duir School's Blog

Port Hope's Newest Child Care Option

Rushing to Read

random reviews from library day

AnswerIt

Funny pictures & cartoons to make you smile.

Tails from Paris

Comics Blog with real bites of love and delightful rascals inside ...

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Katie L. Carroll Observation Desk

Author of Books for Teens and Kids

Natter and Review

This WordPress.com site is about books, both the reading and the writing.

Time Travelling With Kids

Putting kids and history together

